Beauty Wagon

presented by Phyllis Concordia – Avon Independent Sales Representative, Make-Up Artist and Licensed Cosmetologist

What An Amazing Woman… Friday, December 28, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Phyllis Ida Concordia @ 3:01 am
Tags: , , , ,

I am just taking a moment to give tribute to Benazir Bhutto… a beautiful woman in so many ways who gave hope to so many people.  While I realize that what I am about to write may not seem meaningful to some – I am writing this as a tiny something that made me smile (just a little) in the middle of such a tragedy.  London paper, the Daily Mail, showed pictures of some of Benazir Bhutto’s final moments, as she prepared for the political rally leading to her death.  In one picture it showed her applying lip color, from a tube, just before embarking – she was applying this herself – not a Hollywood-style primping some political figures may be accustomed to.   That very picture made me think of who she was more than any other image I have seen… it made me pause to think of her bravery, and her strength, and yes, her beauty.  For me, the idea that her lip color of choice was often bright and beautiful red symbolizes something – something which unfortunately I am only writing about now in her death – but it reminds me that she was very strong and intelligent and brave and bold and with all of that she was not afraid to be beautiful too.  Again, with this post I am not concentrating on the lip color and cosmetics… I am concentrating on what it symbolizes for me about her persona.  What an amazing person… what a tragedy…

 

Leave a Reply

